2016 ASN Canada FIA Canadian AutoSlalom Championship Wrap Up

2016 ASN Canada FIA Canadian AutoSlalom Championship Wrap Up


2016 ASN Canada FIA Canadian AutoSlalom Championship – August 5-7
presented by Toyo Tires Canada


The ASN Canada FIA Canadian AutoSlalom Championship event was held in Blainville, Québec at the PMG Technologies testing track facility and was organized by Club Autosport Des Laurentides (CADL) under the direction of the club’s president, François Leduc.

A record-breaking entry of 146 competitors and almost 1200 runs later over two courses in two days X class and the top three overall drivers were determined.

The 2016 Canadian AutoSlalom Champion is Mike Aversa, Whitby, Ontario in his Subaru Impreza 2.5RS, repeating his 2014 overall win in PEI.

Second Overall: Simon Gagnon from Quebec City in his Subaru Impreza STI (Both were in the Street Modified class).

Third Overall: Michael Morgan of Fairfield, Pennsylvania, in his Nissan 350Z (C Street), finished third overall.

There were 6 different vehicle classes represented in the top 10 overall finishers.

 cac-2016-finalist(L to R) Michael Morgan 3rd, Mike Versa 1st, Simon Gagnon 2nd
Photos: Tony Collins

The event was run under ideal weather conditions.  Friday was registration, technical inspection and a test and tune event.  Saturday and Sunday saw the competitors compete on a course designed by Carl Wener designed to allow the competitors to choose their driving strategy to suit their equipment.  The course was second gear with a couple of temptations to go to third for a brief moment.  The competitors, as a group, were very happy with the course which ran in one direction on day one and the reverse on day two.

The facility at PMG Technologies asphalt surface is newly paved and flat.  The grip was a little slick for the first runs of each day, but became better very quickly as each day went on.  The event organizers had arranged for two timing systems with one as backup. A public address system and a radio system provided commentary and times throughout the weekend.  They had a portable grandstand for spectators. A lot of interviews were done which gave an opportunity to talk about AutoSlalom and extend an invitation to take part.  As well, Flag World was present and reported on the event on its web site.

As is custom with the Nationals, the organizers made the event a social event with arranged camping on site along with a host hotel.  They also had a barbeque on the Saturday after competition came to a close which saw about one hundred of the competitors stay and relax out of the sun in a large tent that seated over 100 people. There was lots of food and the ‘party’ atmosphere went on well into late evening.  The awards ceremony was also held in the tent and the vast majority of the competitors stayed for the awards.  It was a very fitting ending to the event.

There were 31 vehicle classes in all with some of them well subscribed:

X prepared had 12 entrants and Naresh Debidin’s 120.491 total time, in his Mazda Speed MX-5, took the class overcoming Maxime-Olivier Ouellette, in his Acura Integra’s 121.564.

Three classes had 11 entrants. In B Street, Gregory Vincent in his Honda S2000 finished ahead of Bryan Olynyk in his S2000 -127.495 vs 128.572. In Street Touring X, Peter Luu (Honda Civic Sir) had 128.372 while Samuel Krauss (Subaru BRZ) had 129.457.   In Street Touring R, Greg Sweet (Honda S2000) finished with a 128.072 while Steven Day in his Mazda MX-5 had a 129.424.

Super Street Modified had 9 entries and Patrice Potvin’s 121.013 in his Mazda Miata gave him the title by almost 3 seconds over 2nd place in class.

C Street had 8 entries and while Michael Morgan’s 127.122 (3rd overall) won the class, second in class also finished in the top 10 overall (8th) –Bill Rogerson in his Mazda totalled score from the fastest run from each of the two days was 129.427.

C Street Prepared had 6 entries and Aaron Zanga of Sittsville, ON took the class in his Mazda Miata with 126.641 by 10 seconds over second in class.

Street Touring S had 5 entries with Mathieu Payeur in a Mazda Miata won the class with a 131.388 combined run total.

E Street also had 5 entries and Charles Audet of Ste-Thérèse, QC in his Toyota MR2 Spyder 2000 finished 7th overall and won his class with a 131.191.Matthew Steeves of Quispamsis, NB in his Mazda Speed MX-5 was second less than four tenths of a second behind with a 131.566.

D Street Prepared, as well, had 5 entries and Guy Boucher of Terrebonne, QC and his Toyota Corolla GTA took first with a time of 137.010 by two tenths of a second over Brodey Dover of Ottawa, ON and his Fiat 500 Abarth’s 137.233.

G Street was won by Steve Phillips of Middle Sackville, NS in his Volkswagen GTI with a time of 131.593 which also place him 7th overall.

D Street was won by Kevin Schenk of Ottawa, ON in his Subaru WRX with his time of 130.802 which also placed him 10th overall.

Other Class Winners:

A Street Steve Mongrain St. Charles, QC Porsche 996 129.166
B Street Ladies Dino O’Donnell Honda S2000 134.663
C Street Ladies Danielle Goulard Mazda Miata 152.891
F Street Ghislain Pepin Mirabel, QC BMW M235i 130.435
H Street John Kinahan Sittsville, ON Ford Fiesta ST 139.123
S Touring FWD Tony Collins Trois-Riviéres, QC Mazda 3 132.896
S Touring U David St-Pierre Quebec City, QC Mercedes C55 131.824
S Street P Carl Wener Montréal, QC Porsche GT3 122.183
A Street P Daniel Guenette Terrebonne, QX Subaru WRX 133.346
B Street P Ben Brown Brighton, NS BMW M3 124.089
E Street P Bill Gelinas Cambridge, ON Oldsmobile W34 135.898
F Street P Arris Hazzan Barrie, ON Honda Civic 129.677
D Prepared Jean François Nault Bromont, QC Mazda SM Miata 130.054
E Prepared Dannick Vallée St-Lambert-de-Lauzon, QC Acura RSX 129.879
F Prepared François Leduc St-Jérome, QC Subaru Impreza 123.585
Street Mod F Craig English Akron, Ohio Honda Civic 123.366
A Modified Maxime Vaudrin Blainville, QC ENA FSAE 125.029
D Modified Scott Sinclair Kingston, PEI Locost Seven 126.606